Top 5 Things I Look Forward to in 2011

30 Dec

 Every year I find myself saying the same thing – I can’t believe its the end of the year! I’m excited about 2011. I have alot to look forward to and here’s my top 5:

1. Learning: I’m planning to challenge myself and learn a variety of new things like swimming, rollerskating, cooking, Zumbaa and how to create and keep a financial budget. This year I’m soaking up knowledge and storing up for the future.

2. Traveling – This June I’m boarding my first Carnival cruise from Miami to the Bahamas. I look forward to seeing two beautiful beaches and soaking up the warm weather. I’m budgeting this year so I probably do alot of staycations and travel local.

3. Volunteering – I will be giving up a few hours of my time on Saturday’s to deliver food for the Food & Friends, an organization that provides meals, groceries and nutrition counseling to people living with life-challenging illnesses such as AIDS and cancer. Anyone who knows about my father (he passed away in 1999 after suffering for years with an illness) knows this organization really speaks to me. I learned about the Food & Friends through my adopted church, New Macedonia Baptist Church in Southeast DC and it really spoke to my heart. In 2011, I also look forward to using my skills in other capacities.

4. Healthy Living – I’m planning to stop wasting money on my Weight Watchers membership and actually follow the plan. I look forward to taking fitness classes that interest me like Zumba and Latin Dance. I also look forward to saying good-bye to fattening fast-food meals and hello to better eating. I’m also going to take some cooking classes to learn how to use fresh ingredients.

5. Watching OWN – 2011 is all about the Oprah Winfrey Network! I love Oprah and I’m so happy to see her branch out from network TV and tackle cable television. While I’m sad to see her daily talkshow call it quits after 25 seasons, I’m also so excited to see what the next 25 years have in store for her career. I will be watching! Wondering where OWN airs in your area? Find out by clicking here: Find OWN

What are you looking forward to in 2011?

Leave a Reply

