Declare Your Independence!

5 Jul
Happy 4th of July

Happy 4th of July

Happy Independence Day! Although the celebrations are winding down I realized Independence Day can mean so much more than the typical national holiday. I’ve decided to declare an Independence Day of my own.

As corky as this sounds, every year on July 4 while the nation celebrations, I came up with the idea to celebrate myself and my own declaration of independence.  Ne-Yo’s Miss Independent is one of my favorite songs because it encourages me to continue being that type of woman – one who pays bills on time, knows how to command respect and keeps it all together. Whether single or married I believe every woman should become the type of woman who knows how to handle her own.  I say single AND married because it bothers me when married women lose their independence then when the divorce happens they end up with the short stick – they don’t know how much money or assets they have and they gave up their career and skills to further their husbands.  While I agree marriage does mean sharing and commitment, I don’t believe it should come at the expense of your common sense or your independence – maybe that’s just a dream. Married ladies let me know!  

But I digress. 

This July 4th I initally wanted to hang out and do things with others, but I realized the one thing I love about myself is my confidence to do things on my own.  Some people are amazed I’m able to go to the movies or out to dinner all by myself, but it doesn’t bother me one bit.  As I made my way solo to downtown DC, it dawned on me that this too was my personal day of celebration.  Moving to a new state, starting a new job, moving into my first place and finding my way around the “big city”  were all major steps in my journey towards independence.  Saturday I was determined to fight through the crowds to watch the fireworks on the national mall and I did it. I’m convinced being an independent woman is all about realizing just how powerful you truly are. Remember when your parents told you “you can do anything you put your mind to?”  Why did we stop believing those words?  I find that the longer you sit around and wait – as I started to do on Saturday – the quicker life will pass you by. Just as I sat at home I noticed that time waits for no man or woman.  So what are you waiting for? In each blog, I want to ask that question to get you thinking. What are YOU waiting for before you go declare you own indepencence?

Select a date and celebrate your own independence day.  Celebrate those wonderful personal achievements every year – make it as big or as small as you’d like. I’m already working on my plans for next year’s celebration. Let’s just say I’m itching to do some traveling.

Pick your day and let me know how you’re celebrating! And Happy 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

