Finding my own strength

22 Mar

Today was my second day in at the YMCA and I’ll admit I felt a little emotional. I know I’m overweight and I’m not where I want to be in life, but I think the trek from my job to the YMCA is like a journey of a thousand steps. When I joined the Y last week I told myself that I would be committed and that I would finally follow through on losing weight. I selected two classes that interested me and today was my second class – Sculpt and Abs. The class was all about strengthening my core, which is exactly what I need. Every time I go to exercise I think about how far I need to go and the challenges I’ll face. At least I’m honest about it! I walked into class today and told the instructor today is my first day, I’m out of shape and I have weak knees. My goal was to present all the barriers and then just work through them one at a time. Right now my barrier to working out and eating well is just doing it. I feel like I don’t know how to work out to get results or what to eat to improve my health. I don’t want to remain ignorant. I looked at myself in the mirror today doing the crunches and I saw a Maria I didn’t like. To get where I want to be I’m going to have to face who I am in the mirror then take steps to improve. All I know is, I’m ready to just do it.

4 Responses to “Finding my own strength”

  1. brandnewphd 03/22/2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Soror, I totally feel you! I am thin, but severely out of shape! I can’t run up a flight of stairs without being winded…lol. But I made the decision to change this. I am doing the couch to 5K program and making sure I eat better and better as the days go on. Just know that it is a process, but keep at it and you will see a difference. As for eating healthy,start small. Slowly start to subsitute things that you eat that may have alot of calories for things with less. For example if you like chips, go with baked instead of fried. If you like french fries, try sweet potato instead of the normal ones. If you like sweets, try to eat more fruit instead of overdosing on candy, cakes, and cookies. Also, start browsing cookbooks in barnes and noble in the diet section as well as reading magazines like cooking light, etc. More importantly, give yourself love and know that every day you are becoming a healthier person. My motivation is that I want to be able to run after my children when ever God will grant them to me. And at the rate I am going, I will probably be an older mom, so it is even more motivation to get into shape now..lol YOU CAN DO IT!!!!!!!!

    • gogetitgirl 04/11/2011 at 3:30 pm #

      Thanks for the encouragement! The couch to 5k program sounds fun. I’ll have to research that :)

  2. TMarie 04/11/2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Sis..

    You took first step to improving and that is what’s most important.

    I know how it is, granted when we look in the mirror we see what we don’t want to see, but that shouldn’t make us feel less of who we are.

    Think about the way that God sees you and think of the Real reason why you are doing this. Which, is to get healthy, remain healthy and pursue your purpose in life.

    You are doing great! Before you know it, you will be taking 4 or 5 classes a week!

  3. CJ 07/14/2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Soror,

    When you look in the mirror know that you are the finest, most beautiful thing you ever saw. We all have “things” to work on and you have already taken the 1st step of your journey. Don’t put too much pressure on yourself. Let this journey to better health be an exciting, informative and special adventure. Take this time to rediscover all of your gifts. Brandnew gave some great options in terms of modifying your diet. I love sweet potatoe french fries and I am finding that baked chips are so bad even the based cheetos. Yes, I still indulge. It’s all about modification. We you go to that next class, don’t think about how far you have to go. Think about how far you have come and enjoy the successes you accomplish in that 30 to 45 min workout. Much success to you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,243 other followers

