Wanted: P-T Weekend Job

23 Jan

I know going after your goals
requires making sacrifices so this weekend I realized one sacrifice I need to make is my time on the weekends.

While I have a wonderful full-time job during the week, I realized I really could use a part-time job on the weekends.  I set a few goals for myself for 2011, such as building up my 6-month savings and sending money home to my mother, so  in order to accomplish these goals I need to make additional income.

I am open to retail opportunities as well as other jobs that allow me to use my skills in public relations and marketing. Since my work during the week is a bit strenuous, I am hoping to find a position that isn’t as stressful. Did I mention I can start immediately?

If you know of any part-time positions in the DMV area or those I could do online, please e-mail me at mariadjames@gmail.com.

My online portfolio is available at http://mariajamespr.weebly.com

Here is a brief summary of my experience:

Experience in Retail/Food service

  • I worked as a cashier for Dollar Tree for over 10 years and I also help set up a new Family Dollar in Virginia Beach, Va. This required unloading merchandise from the truck and setting up shelves. I also worked at Taco Bell.

Experience in Tourism/Travel

  • I love tourism and travel. I have worked as a  tour guide at the Virginia Marine Science Museum  in Virginia Beach, Va. as well as in the communications department for  museums throughout Virginia such as the Black History Museum of Virginia and the Valentine Richmond History Center. I also worked for two years as the marketing and public relations assistant at the Norfolk Convention and Visitors Bureau. I also dabbled in historic preservation as an intern with the Preservation Alliance of Virginia in Richmond, Va.

I welcome all of your suggestions and connections. My goal is to start working in February.  I’ll keep you posted on what happens.

Are you job hunting? I’d love to feature you on my blog. Email me at mariadjames@gmail.com.

2 Responses to “Wanted: P-T Weekend Job”

  1. TMarie 04/11/2011 at 1:34 pm #

    I am extremely excited for you! I know that doors are going to open for you so that you are able to reach your goals! Just apply your faith with that action girly and it is done!

    Love ya!

    • gogetitgirl 04/11/2011 at 1:37 pm #

      Thanks!! I appreciate the encouragement. I believe doors will open for me as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,242 other followers

