My new addiction: Coupons!

9 Jan

Saving money for 2011

Last week I watched a show on TLC called Extreme Couponing and I was completely mesmerized. The show features people from across the country who have developed unique, even outrageous, strategies for saving money by using coupons at the grocery store.

One man, Nathan Engels, of Villa Hills, KY, purchased $5,743 worth of cereal, hand soap and toothbrushes. After  utilizing coupons he only spent $241. He and his wife were able to get out of debt based on smart spending.

While Nathan and others stock piled tons of products inside their garage (Nathan has  10,000 items in his garage) I was most impressed by Joyce House, of Philadelphia, PA.

Joyce  didn’t have thousands of items stocked up in her home, but instead she was a regular shopper, like me, who realized coupons were free money. Through using coupons Joyce has not  purchased a toothbrush, toothpaste or deodorant in 34 years! On the show her purchases originally cost $230.38, but after utilizing her coupons, Joyce only paid $6.32.

What I like most about Joyce on the show is her drive to teach others her secret for saving money. On the show, she stopping other shoppers to ask them if they were using coupons and if not, she provided coupons for items in their cart that was on sale – A woman after my own heart!

While I don’t see myself stock piling 10,000 items (I can’t believe anybody does that), I do, however, realize I’m wasting money by not having items I use regularly available at home. Whenever I run out of something I immediately go to the store. I have no strategy! If its on sale great, if not, I pay the posted price or seek a cheaper item.   I need to be more strategic in my shopping .

According to the extreme couponers on the TLC show, strategic shopping is about taking the buying power back from the stores and putting it back into your hands. One of my goals for 2011 is to be a good steward over my money. The biblical principle of  being “the lender and not the borrower”  is not a myth. I truly believe it’s God’s desire that I prosper and be in good health, even as my soul prospers. Afterall, it says so in 3 John 1:2 (check it out!). I’m happy to know that I serve a God who cares about all aspects of my life, even my wallet!

I just registered for  CouponMom.com – check it out! CouponMom.com is a wonderful website, created by Stephanie Nelson, that not only provides printable coupons, but it also complies sales papers from retail and grocery stores in your area and matches their sales with the coupons from the Sunday paper and those online. You can even print off your grocery list based on the sales you select. Talk about time-saving!

I look forward to shopping this week. Harris Teeter is having their Super Double Coupons event from Jan 5 – Jan 11. They will double all coupons up to 1.98 (max 20 coupons per day). I’m itching to see what I can get for free.

Happy Shopping!

3 Responses to “My new addiction: Coupons!”

  1. The Magic of Coupons 01/11/2011 at 9:13 am #

    happy couponing

    • gogetitgirl 01/11/2011 at 3:45 pm #

      Thanks! I used two coupons last night and I noticed so many people around me who weren’t. Isn’t that crazy? I wanted to give everyone coupons..lol.

  2. Stacy 01/30/2011 at 9:34 am #

    Have you checked out KrazyCouponLady’s blog? It’s pretty awesome though I haven’t used it just yet. I am hoping to get into extreme couponing this year as well. My small group leader does it and is planning to do a “seminar” on it LOL Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,242 other followers

