Ouch! A Girl’s Guide to Shoveling Snow

7 Feb

I have to shovel this?

Already this year the Mid-Atlantic region has been “blessed” with a record amount of snowfall. My city, Washington, DC, saw over 20 inches between Friday and Saturday! Once the snow stops, the reality is someone has to clear off your car, walkway and driveway. 

Ladies let’s face it – the men aren’t, can’t or won’t come to our rescue and help. While there are good men out there who will help, we don’t have to wait for that to happen. We can shovel the snow too! 

Before you head outdoors, save yourself the agony of a sore back by learning how to shovel snow properly.

According to eHow.com, here’s the proper way to shovel:

  1. Make sure you have a good snow shovel. Most snow shovels have open ends that allow you to easily toss the snow off to the side.

  2. Consider your physical condition. If you are out of shape you should proceed with caution. Snow is heavy and shoveling is hard work – you don’t want to risk a serious injury or jeopardize your health.

  3. Remove the snow from the driveway and any walkways needed to get into and out of the house. Don’t forget the areas around the mailbox, garbage cans and other places you’ll want access to.

  4. Work toward the areas where you are depositing the snow so that you have less distance to toss it as you tire.

  5. Chip away any ice that you find under the snow and remove the chunks with the shovel.

  6. Spread rock salt over the cleared area to avoid icing.

  7. Sand any areas that remain slippery.

Now, if you’re a visual learner like me, check out this wonderful YouTube video I found by Health Expert and Chiropractor Dr. Vogelmann (He works in  the same city as me  – Bethesda, Maryland!).

Also, don’t forget, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with asking for help. If you see neighbors out shoveling, ask for assistance or consider helping them. My experience has been good neighbors will help one another in times of crisis.

Happy Shoveling!

3 Responses to “Ouch! A Girl’s Guide to Shoveling Snow”

  1. Lady J 02/07/2010 at 5:49 pm #

    You are the best Big Sis!!!!! I finished the areas around me car just a while ago safely based on your guidance.

    • gogetitgirl 02/07/2010 at 5:54 pm #

      Glad to help! I just finished my walk way and I’m taking a break. I needed these tips too!

  2. Melissa 02/07/2010 at 6:42 pm #

    I just spent 3 1/2 hours digging out my car. Too bad I didn’t read this BEFORE I started. :-). Anyway, I got it done and my neighbors were really helpful. Two guys came over to help three of us ladies.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,243 other followers

